Other duties

Budgets

How do you organize your library budget?

I create a Google spreadsheet  for each line item with the final amount.  Anytime I spend money from the budget, I enter into the spreadsheet.  Setting up a formula, the entered amount subtracts from the allotted amount for that line item.

Our line items include databases, supplies, AV supplies, and library books. Like most of us, I wish we had more money to provide greater access to resources for our students and staff.  I am thankful for the numbers I do have and we are always looking for ways to be more efficient with our spending.  I am thankful for grants and our PTO that support library needs as well.

Every quarter, I ask the building bookkeeper to print out a report of expenses for each line item.  I compare it to my spreadsheet numbers and adjust when needed.

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.

Powered by: Wordpress
Skip to toolbar